As technology evolves, modern vehicles are becoming a lot safer than they were about two to three decades ago. Front side-curtain airbags, crumple zones, and other excellent safety measure have been implemented to make car crashes more survivable. However, most of these features function correctly for car passengers who are adult-sized. For kids, the most important safety feature is the child car seat.
Child car seats are an essential safety feature as the Texas State has mandated their use. All drivers must ensure that the child perfectly secured using an advanced restraint system unless the kid is 4’9” or taller. Any professional Austin injury lawyer will tell you that failure to secure your child effectively might result in serious personal injury claims if an accident occurs and the child gets injured.
The type of restraint system or the car set you choose is up to you, but it must be age-appropriate and used according to the manufacturer’s instructions. You can buy a rear-set or front seat child care seat depending on the type of car you have. Generally, the rear-seat is considered a safe option for all kids under one-year-old.
Also, it’s recommended to avoid rear-facing kid seat in a front car seat that has a passenger-side airbag unless you have disabled the airbag. This is because the airbag can result in a catastrophic injury in such a seat. In case you are not sure about how your car seat works, consider getting help, often for free, by looking for a certified and reputable CPST (Child Passenger Safety Technician).
Kid car seat recommendations
The Texas state law defines overall guidance for legal practices, and these are the minimum safety regulations. To protect your little angel, the AAP (American Academy of Pediatrics) has created some guidelines regarding car seat and restraint system use for kids from birth to 13 years. These insights are divided into four phases.
Phase 1: 0 to 2 years
From birth to about two years or a maximum of 35 pounds, it’s recommended to use rear-facing infant or even a convertible child car seat in the back until the child’s weight and height reaches the set limits.
Phase 2: 2years to 4 years
Once your baby outgrows the rear-facing seat, start using a front-facing kid seat at the back seat until the baby reaches the recommended weight – often from 40 pounds to 80 pounds.
Phase 3: 4 years to 12 years
With time, your baby will outgrow the front-facing seat and probably can behave appropriately outside the special child car seat. The kid can start using a booster seat that has an adult lap and a chest belt.
Phase 4: 12 years to 13 or more years
By this age, your child will have reached the right height and weight that perhaps exceeds the booster seat and can perfectly fit the adult-level seatbelt. You can choose to have your kid ride at the back seat (safer option) or front seat.
If you or your kid has been involved in a car accident, seek medical attention immediately and contact your lawyer. Note that an experienced personal injury lawyer can help you recover financially from the accident.